Taking the MCAT early

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Thundrstorm

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
First, I apologize if this issue has been addressed before and if it has, feel free to post links to a relevant thread.

I'm currently a sophomore undergrad and I recently decided that it would make more sense for me to take the August 2003 MCAT (instead of April 2004). The reason for this is that the BioChem major at my school is very rigorous and I don't think I will have the kind of time that I need to dedicate to MCAT studying during the spring semester. Also, I don't want to wait until the August before I apply b/c I want to get things done early and I want the opportunity for a retake if necessary. I spoke to my pre-med advisor and she asked me to take a practice test and show it to her before deciding b/c she advises a year of studying.

So, I guess my question is this: do you guys think that I will be adequately prepared if I study as much as I can between now and May and then spend the summer studying like crazy? I will have completed bio, microbio, cell bio, gen chem, orgo 1, orgo 2, q&a, physics 1, and physics 2 by then, so I've learned all of the material that I need.

During the summer, I usually work full time (40 hrs/week), but I'm considering only working 4 days a week and then dedicating 1 day a week to MCAT studying. I can't afford a class for $1000 or anything, so can you guys also suggest some good books or other methods of preparation? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I did the same thing you're considering doing (against the advice of my advisor :mad: ) and it worked great for me. The only thing is you're going to need to study more than one day a week over summer. Studying eight hours in one day is not the same as studying four days a week, two hours a day. But you're defnitely giong to be fine taking it early.