Teaching Credential and GAP Year

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

djsbaseball2014

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

So I am in my 4th year right now and am planning on applying to medical school in June. I will be taking a GAP year after completing my BS and am thinking about possibly completing a teachers credential program during this year. My UG offers a special program for teaching interns in which you can become a full time teacher under contract of the district and complete your teachers credential at the same time within one year.

I am going to be supporting myself after graduation and really enjoy teaching( I have alot of past tutoring experiences) However, I am 100% set on medicine and just wanted to get some thoughts on this option.

I would be able to make money and do something productive during my GAP year while also getting a degree that could help me if i dont get into medical school. I just dont want my passion for medicine to be put into question. Any advice would help!

Members don't see this ad.

So I am in my 4th year right now and am planning on applying to medical school in June. I will be taking a GAP year after completing my BS and am thinking about possibly completing a teachers credential program during this year. My UG offers a special program for teaching interns in which you can become a full time teacher under contract of the district and complete your teachers credential at the same time within one year.

I am going to be supporting myself after graduation and really enjoy teaching( I have alot of past tutoring experiences) However, I am 100% set on medicine and just wanted to get some thoughts on this option.

I would be able to make money and do something productive during my GAP year while also getting a degree that could help me if i dont get into medical school. I just dont want my passion for medicine to be put into question. Any advice would help!