Tech to medicine. Seeking advice.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

techy

Reaction score
Hi there :)!

I'm an engineer few years out of uni. I want to serve the community more directly with my roots in STEM. Thinking of applying to official Post Bac program few years down the road.

Pros:
  • High ugrad gpa
  • work at Facebook as a software engineer
Cons:
  • Never taken Chem/Bio :(
  • No shadowing/volunteering
What can I do to speed process to med school if I want to matriculate in my late 20s?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
What should I do to best expedite the process to med school since I'd want to matriculate in my late 20s. Should I try applying to competitive Post Bacs with linkages? I want to play to my strengths in my ECs in tech (which I enjoy), but am wondering if it'd be wiser to take up more traditional ECs because I have a nontrad background?

No responses since yesterday so I thought I'd chip in...

I think your GPA is stellar (especially from a top school and FB, no less) and I'm envious of your stats. If it were up to me, I would apply to a formal post-bac with linkage (ex. Bryn Mawr, Temple). That's your most straightforward shot to medical school. I am unfamiliar at how truly competitive it is to get into those programs, but I can't imagine a 3.9 GPA from a top CS school and FAANG experience would somehow put you at a disadvantage.

Start applying! :)

Edit: As a former worker in IT who has friends at FB, only true medical passion would steer you away from the free food, free laundry, valet, yoga classes, an arcade, gym, barbers...

Reactions: 1 user
No medical experience
No shadowing/volunteering