Texan Dreams: Lost Cause?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Kam3725

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a Mississippi resident with a strong desire to go to TX for med. school. After Katrina, the majority of my family moved there and since 2005, it's pretty much been like a second home to me. I realize getting in OOS in TX is fairly difficult and here's the kicker, I'm probably not going to have my TMDSAS fully submitted and ready to go until mid-August on account of me taking the MCAT in mid-July. From the looks of it, my stats are about average (based on SDN standards) 3.99 cGPA/3.98 sGPA and I'm averaging about a 35 on the AAMC practice tests. My EC's are probably average as well with 1 year of working at a neurology clinic, 2 years of research, 1 year of clinical volunteering, a primary care internship, and about 3 years of ongoing community service in one way or another. Assuming I'm able to crank out a 35-36 on the real MCAT, do I have a realistic shot of getting in due to my late application submission? Any advice/feedback would be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

With a nearly perfect GPA and a 35-36 MCAT, I think you'll be made in the shade if you submitted the last possible date.

Ok not the last possible date. But August is fine. :luck:

and I'm averaging about a 35 on the AAMC practice tests.

Assuming I'm able to crank out a 35-36 on the real MCAT, do I have a realistic shot of getting in due to my late application submission?

I'm not sure if the Texas application service is different than AAMC, but you could have your application ready for submission as soon as you take your MCAT, especially since you still have a month or so to get it all squared away.