textbooks?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

flpostbac

15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
For those who have experienced the first year(s) as a med student, I am interested in your opinions on which textbooks worked best for you for the following courses:
Microscopic anatomy, gross anatomy biochemistry, pathology, neuroscience, immunology, microbiology, pharmacology.

Any response will be greatly appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Histo: Wheaters and to a lesser extent Ross
Gross: Netter, Rohen, and Chung's board review
Biochem: Champe and Harvey
Neuro: Purves, Haines, Manter and Gatz, and BRS
Immuno: Stites

Path and Pahrm are 2nd year

I couldn't have gotten through Year One without everything in bold.

Microanatomy: Gartner and Hiatt text; Kerr atlas

Gross: Moore and Agur text (aka "Mini-Moore"), Netter atlas; Rohen and Yokoshi photo atlas; people like Board Review Series ("BRS") Gross Anatomy; "Lachman's Case Studies" has good clinical correlations; Weir atlas for radiography

Path: Robbins is supposed to be the bible, but I didn't use it; BRS Pathology; do NOT invest in Chandrasoma and Taylor

Neuro: Nolte text; Nolte atlas (for neuroanatomy); "The Practice of Neural Science" has good clinical correlations

Biochem: didn't use any texts; Lippencott is supposed to be good

Microbiology: didn't use any texts; people like Microbiology Made Ridiculously Simple (or something like that)

Immuno: Kuby (not commonly used, I had it from undergrad)

Pharm: didn't use any texts; Katzung is supposed to be good

Do yourself a huge favor and get BRS Pathology and BRS Physiology now and use it to supplement your studies. Things were so much clearer doing that.

Members don't see this ad :)
•••quote:•••Originally posted by Iron Horse:
•Path and Pahrm are 2nd year•••••Not if you have an organ systems based curriculum!