Textbooks???

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HelloGoodbye

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody...I'm a second semester M1 and was wondering if I could get your opinions on textbooks.

So first semester I was an eager med student and bought all of the required textbooks (~$700). However, I ended up only using my Netter for Anatomy and my Histology textbook. Our school has pretty good coursepacks, with picture for most things, so I feel like I didn't need them that much. I kind of feel like I wasted a lot of money.

This semester I haven't bought many of the books, but am getting "non-buyers" regret...lol

So anyways, do you buy the required textbook for your school? Open for discussion!

Members don't see this ad.

I bought Netter's, Costanzo Phys, and Robins. Other than that I have used my course packs and review books and this has served me quite well.

I buy everything but I'm getting paid so it don't matter. If I were cost conscious I would not, though I did just read my first text book ever cover to cover this semester. Pretty proud of myself for that. You likely aren't missing much, and I would just buy review books and Robbins the rest of the way through pre-clinicals.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hello everybody...I'm a second semester M1 and was wondering if I could get your opinions on textbooks.

So first semester I was an eager med student and bought all of the required textbooks (~$700). However, I ended up only using my Netter for Anatomy and my Histology textbook. Our school has pretty good coursepacks, with picture for most things, so I feel like I didn't need them that much. I kind of feel like I wasted a lot of money.

This semester I haven't bought many of the books, but am getting "non-buyers" regret...lol

So anyways, do you buy the required textbook for your school? Open for discussion!