Thank you!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted1161543

Thank you for the advice!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
Reactions: 1 user
Sorry to hear about the healthcare private equity getting rescinded.

IMO, if you're trying to "stand out" to T20, I don't think this plan stands out, but I'm also not an expert by any means. It's pretty cookie-cutter premed stuff. Most profiles of T20s I have seen have something truly extraordinary, like a Rhodes scholarship, Goldwater, non-profit founder, etc.

The Fulbright name carries weight and could elevate your app, but research tech jobs are usually 2-year commitments. If you apply now for Fulbright, you won't be able to do it next year because you'll probably still be working. If you get the Fulbright, you could probably just list it on your resume, but I doubt it will have the same weight if you don't end up actually doing it.

Again, I'm not an expert, so I'll defer to the likes of @Mr.Smile12 , @LizzyM , @chilly_md , @Faha and others, but that's just my thoughts based on what I've read and observed here.

IMO, if you're trying to "stand out" to T20, I don't think this plan stands out, but I'm also not an expert by any means. It's pretty cookie-cutter premed stuff. Most profiles of T20s I have seen have something truly extraordinary, like a Rhodes scholarship, Goldwater, non-profit founder, etc.
I think this is a huge exaggeration lol. I may be wrong, but I seriously have a hard time believing that every T20 student, or even the majority of T20 students, have something equivalent to Rhodes on their profile.

I will say stats are probably low for T20 as ORM though, especially that science GPA. I would avoid schools like UPenn, NYU, Yale, Harvard, Columbia, etc, your MCAT score is at like 10th percentile for T10s and the science GPA is probably around 10th as well.

Members don't see this ad :)