The Usual...Getting into Med School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Medstudent01

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys...this is my first time at SDN :)

I was reading all of these threads and I have a few questions myself...

1) I got an A in Organic Chemistry I, but then a C+ in Organic Chemistry 2...does this really jeopardize my chances to med school? This will bring down my GPA to a 3.64...:scared:

2) Will taking Biochem and getting an A in it help my C+?

3) I'm always doubtful when it comes to my GPA...what does a 3.64 look like to med schools...am I below or still on track?

4) I'm taking the MCAT this summer...any advice as to taking online classes, prep courses, etc? It would be helpful if you've had personal experience...I plan on studying each and every day until the exam, but I'm freaking myself out.

5) How does a paid research program look like to med schools?

Please do share your advice...thank you :)

Members don't see this ad.

Hi Guys...this is my first time at SDN :)

I was reading all of these threads and I have a few questions myself...

1) I got an A in Organic Chemistry I, but then a C+ in Organic Chemistry 2...does this really jeopardize my chances to med school? This will bring down my GPA to a 3.64...:scared:

2) Will taking Biochem and getting an A in it help my C+?

3) I'm always doubtful when it comes to my GPA...what does a 3.64 look like to med schools...am I below or still on track?

4) I'm taking the MCAT this summer...any advice as to taking online classes, prep courses, etc? It would be helpful if you've had personal experience...I plan on studying each and every day until the exam, but I'm freaking myself out.

5) How does a paid research program look like to med schools?

Please do share your advice...thank you :)

1) Yes

2) Yes

3) Below at most

4) Stop freaking out, are you self-motivated? If yes, don't waste money on prep courses.