Thoughts on Baylor?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

linkin06

We are all witnesses.
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
What are people's impression of Baylor? On the one hand, I could see having training at Texas children's and Texas hearts is close to as good as it gets. On the other hand, I heard from ut Houston residents that Baylor residents are seen as being less clinically prepared -- book smarts.

I was wondering also about ut Houston. Seemed like a solid program in a great city. But also had dos/imgs was my impression.

Members don't see this ad.

Baylor and UT-houston seemed to have a big rivalry with one another. I wouldnt believe a word one said about the other.

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
I had a long reply typed out but then the app crashed. I'm a student at Baylor. In short, I think that Baylor offers a very comprehensive clinical experience. High volume, high acuity, good specialty exposure as far as I can tell. At least a couple of well known fellowships (cardiac and peds, and then peds cardiac if that floats your boat).

I know that UT-Houston has had some recent leadership changes, so I'm essentially taking the high road here regarding what I heard from residents...I've heard that there have been some positive changes, so I'm not convinced the stuff I heard from CA-3s is still applicable.

What are people's impression of Baylor? On the one hand, I could see having training at Texas children's and Texas hearts is close to as good as it gets. On the other hand, I heard from ut Houston residents that Baylor residents are seen as being less clinically prepared -- book smarts.

I was wondering also about ut Houston. Seemed like a solid program in a great city. But also had dos/imgs was my impression.
If you are interested in a CT fellowship at THI, then going to Baylor is in your best interest.

Bump