This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

forEBM

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everybody,
I'm a MS1 at an osteopathic school with some thoughts on OMM that I wanted to share and get feedback on.
I don't believe in it. I know that's not a super original opinion to have, but I'm wondering why nothing (at least nothing that I'm aware of) is ever really done to get rid of it. It seems like most of my classmates and seniors either buy into it or approach it with a "get through it and forget about it" sort of attitude.

Really my biggest issue with it in the here and now is that it's an opportunity cost: because I have to take OMM courses, I lose 4-6 hours a week that I could be studying something else. It's frustrating to think that my allopathic counterparts have that privilege.

Again, I'm in my first year, so I understand that I have limited experience with OMM, but a review of the literature is enough for me to have questions about how an education and a field that is supposed to be based on scientific evidence can make OMM a mandatory part of the curriculum.

So here's my first question for more advanced osteopathic students and graduates. If you don't buy into the OMM stuff, why not try to change it? Or have there been attempts made that I'm just ignorant to?