Thoughts?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

afro5692

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Well, congratulations to those of you that have received acceptances! I am currently a teacher, but have decided to make a career change. Through my few years of experience, I have concluded that I am more passionate about helping people, rather than 'forcing' students to accept my help (if that makes sense- those of you who may have experience in education might agree). GPA stats are in my sig. I have taken courses in bio, physics and chem, but they were just general ed requirements for my major. I teach a science-type course, so have a ton of sciences, just not the right ones! Graduated college in 3 years by taking 22+ credits per semester. Anyways, I am pursuing an informal post-bacc at the nearby university, which also happens to house one of my top-choice dental schools. I have outlined my plan of attack for the prereqs I have remaining, but wanted to see what your thoughts were, first!

Summer 1 Session
-Gen Chem 1
-Gen Bio 1

Summer 2 Session
-Gen Chem 2
-Gen Bio 2

Fall Semester
-OChem 1
-A&P
-Physics 1
-Some kind of math review tutoring (I took college alg and stats a few years ago, so mostly refresher)
-Take the DAT (hopefully the only attempt I will need, but leaves enough time for retake?)

Spring Semester
-OChem 2
-Cell Bio
-Physics 2
-Retake DAT (if necessary)

Summer
-Apply!

Fall Semester
-Biochemistry
-Interviews (hopefully!)

Again, this is totally informal, so I am looking for any feedback- seriously...is it crazy? Do you recommend any other courses?

Members don't see this ad.

Looks like a great plan! Very balanced course load as well so it should be manageable.

Only thing is most schools require labs along with the classes so you'll need to fit those in somewhere but they might be built into the class already.

Sweet! Thanks! Do you think I should take any additional upper levels?