Tired and old question...

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cmz

Pathology Wannabe
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm basically looking for some sound advice regarding taking my career to the next level. I'm currently a 3rd year med student who is mid-way through a funded research year. I wanted to see if a year of dedicated research could sway me either towards getting a PhD or just finish up the MD and worry about the rest later. I don't think I have arrived at any conclusions since my mind seems to be real clouded right now (see next paragraph). I believe I could secure funding right now if I ask for it, but I'm still not entirely convinced if getting a PhD is "right" for me. I believe there are OTHER options down the road (besides MSTP) once you complete residency (i.e. a post-doctoral fellowship for 3-4 yrs) if you wish to actively pursue academic medicine. I really think I could see myself doing basic science research.

And as for my "problems" -- I think one of my main hang ups right now has to be my parents. They just want me to finish my damn degree and pursue bigger and better things. After all, "I thought this was a 'one year' thing".. as they so eloquently put it with regard to my year off doing research. The other big factor is time. I don't want to spend a decade trying to earn a PhD. Also, I don't want to get cheated out of the PhD-experience. Essentially, I would be more than willing to work on a project with guarunteed results -- No ****ing around for me.

I am going to talk with some more with my mentor and graduate school deans, etc to see what my options are, but I would really appreciate any thoughts/comments from you guys.

Members don't see this ad.

this has nothing to do with your post unfortunately but:

one of Jay-Z's old nicknames is HOVA.

so H to the (izz)-O, V to the (izz)-A... is just spelling his name.