To PT or not PT?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

To PT or PhD?

• PhD

Votes: 4 50.0%
  • DPT

Votes: 4 50.0%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

futuredpt-prof

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
To be or not to be?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Take the free PhD continue to work during your PhD. Then get your DPT if you want to and you should be able to pay cash for it at an in-state school. With a PhD and DPT you can practice, do research or end up teaching at a PT school. 22 is young enough to do both IMO, but you shouldn't give up on dreams just because you failed once. If that's the case you didn't really want to be a PT to begin with.

To be or not to be?

Hi, all!
It's been a couple of years, but I did it. I got into physical therapy school. And... I also royally screwed up the first semester. Let me put it to you this way: My life was a real mess over the summer. I graduated with my hard-earned Master's degree at the end of May, moved 1,000 miles away, got a new job, and I was sitting in a classroom of my new PT program by the beginning of the first week of June. Needless to say, it was a whirlwind. Quite frankly, I was burnt out.

Of course, like most healthcare professional students, I was hit by a pretty tough class in the first semester: the dreaded Gross Anatomy. It was a lot. It was overwhelming. And I got to be tortured by it for 9 hours a day Monday-Friday, worked from the minute I got home to the minute I fell asleep to keep a roof over my head, and woke up to do it all again the next day. The stress caught up to me pretty quickly. I came home the first day crying and saying, "I don't want to be here." I was sick every single day, probably as a result of the lack of sleep and stress. I had everything I ever wanted, and suddenly, I was too tired to know why I even wanted it anymore.