Torn Between Specialties

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ugagrad1116

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am a third year medical student trying to decide what specialty to choose. I originally thought I wanted to do OB-gyn and have officially declared that because my school makes you declare around this time. But I'm torn between OB-gyn and something more surgical.

Reasons I had chosen OB-gyn:
1. I like surgery so I wanted something with a surgical component
2. I like delivering babies and doing c-sections
3. I like some continuity of care and clinic but I don't want clinic all the time (family medicine was miserable at times)

However, I am worried about call life because I want a family at some point. So I'm scared I'm being naive about OB-gyn because the place I did my rotation at had a laborist that did all the call for the practice. And my OB-gyn strictly did surgery because PAs and NPs did clinic for them, but I'm nervous I won't do a ton of surgery in real practice. I liked ortho but I'm not sure I have the muscle to do what they do every day lol. I'm currently on urology and am liking it for the most part. And I hear they have a pretty good family life because there are few true urologic emergencies. I have liked the doctors and residents in OB gyn, ortho, and urology so picking based on where I fit better hasn't been helpful. I haven't done gen surg yet so I'm not sure how that will go.

Step score: 246 and grades have been mostly As with some Bs, some summer research with no publications, average extracurriculars

Any incite on how you chose a specialty would be super helpful!

Members don't see this ad.

Which other surgical specialties are you considering? You didn’t mention gen surg. Will you consider it too?
For competitive surgical subspecialties like ortho or urology, one probably needs research in that field to get in.