Traditional husband?

emidesu

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
My fiance is from a traditional culture. I am starting MSI this year. He says he doesn't want me to give up my dream, but I feel like he's not getting that becoming a doctor is not a part-time occupation. I have given him links to forums like this one and he doesn't seem to follow through. He insists he loves me and wants to stay with me, but somehow I am supposed to be able to drop everything if my family needs something. I love him very much and don't want to lose him, but I don't know how to explain to him the level of commitment required in this path. Has anyone else had success with someone like this?

Members don't see this ad.

I am a pharmacy student, and one of the reasons my husband and I are divorcing is that he was not at all supportive of me being in school or in my planning on having a career. Before we got married, he encouraged me. I was afraid to even apply to Pharmacy school, but he talked me into it. Once I got in, he was jealous about all the time I spent studying. He didn't want me to get involved in school activities. He got angry when I went to pharmacy conferences for school. It got to the point where he was trying to sabotage me. He would pick horrible fights with me...always the night before my exams. We went to counseling and he basically admitted he wanted a traditional wife who was going to have his children and stay home with them. He knew all along this is not what I wanted...i guess he thought if we got married, I'd change my mind. What I've learned from my situation is that you can't be anyone but yourself. If you cannot be yourself and have what you want in your marriage, then you need to get out of it. Everyone's situation is different though. You need to find out what you and your husband really want and need and see if you can compromise. Good luck.

emidesu said: