Transfering Programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

spurious

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a PGY1 resident in a small program which is not very academic. I have been offered a position to transfer into another larger, more competitive program in the same field in the same city. Now I have to tell my PD about the transfer and I am unsure what to say since I have to continue in my current program until the end of the year. Please let me know if you have any suggestions!

Members don't see this ad.

wow, what a situation. Well, congratulations. I first want to say that you need to do what you need to do for your career. Your current program will find another resident, particularly if you are in even a semicompetitive field. So don't feel too terrible for them. It's not like you are bailing after 3-4 years of a surgical program or something...you're an intern.

The first thing you should do is check the house staff manual for your hospital and find out how much notice you have to give before you leave. Generally there is a contract to sign for your PGY2 year, and it comes out around April 1st or so. Definitely you don't want to sign that. If I were you, I'd wait at least a couple more months before you tell your program. You don't want to risk them getting hacked off and doing something bad to you...it honestly probably wouldn't happen, but it's possible. You don't want your evaluations to be affected negatively. Therefore, unless you think the fact that you are leaving will "leak" out, I'd suggest waiting until Feb. or March or so to tell your current program. If they know you are leaving, you may also get less teaching/attention from some faculty, and that would be bad.