TY resident considering switch to psych--advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Immortality

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all--

I'm a brand new TY resident and I have matched into a strong rads program to start next year. I have been having a change of heart regarding radiology over the past 6 months or so and have been thinking a lot about my original passion and motivation to enter medical school--psychiatry--especially after completing a psych sub-I a few months ago.

I have strong scores--step 1 250s, step 2 260s, honors in almost all pre-clin and clin rotations, strong evals, AOA, etc, and multiple psych and rads pubs, with psych background b4 med school including a year of dedicated psych research at NIMH. Given this, how easy or not would it be to try to land a PGY-2 psych spot next year? I graduated from a top 40 or so US med school.

Also, would my TY year count for a Psych PGY-1? Any changes to these rules from prior years with the new ACGME guidelines? My program has 5 months of in-patient medicine, 1 ICU, 1 ED, no neuro.

Any and all help is appreciated.

I

Members don't see this ad.

You should be able to easily find a spot in a good psych program with that kind of background. Some programs hold a PGY-2 spot every year because they want to attract good people switching out of other specialties.
A transitional year counts as a PGY-1 in psych and you would still be able to graduate on time. Though I don't know offhand if it would be mandatory to do the neuro rotations, it'd surely be helpful for the PRITE and board exam.
Good luck!

There are psych intern year requirements, most of which would be satisfied during a typical TY, except possibly 2 months of neurology which would be completed within the psych program (somewhere in PGY2-4) if needed.

Members don't see this ad :)