UCLA (IS) vs. Penn

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Dentist To Be123

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I got accepted to several amazing dental schools yesterday, but UCLA and Penn are my top two choices. I'm a California resident and got a scholarship to UCLA and to Penn.

I absolutely loved Penn at the interview and would be happier living in Philadelphia than Los Angeles. I don't mind moving to the east coast, and I'm used to the harsh winters, since I go to school in the midwest. My family lives about 5 hours away from UCLA, so it'd be a much easier to commute if I wanted to go home for a weekend, but I also don't plan on doing that too often.

Everyone says to go to the cheapest dental school, but I 100% loved Penn. Even though Penn is more expensive than UCLA, would it be silly not to go to the cheapest dental school? (For reference, I'm thinking about getting involved in academia post-graduation, and I don't think I want to specialize, but of course that can change).

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi everyone! I got accepted to several amazing dental schools yesterday, but UCLA and Penn are my top two choices. I'm a California resident and got a $25,000 scholarship to UCLA, bringing the total cost to $315,000. I also received a $80,0000 scholarship to Penn, bringing the total to $390,000. Room and board is included in both costs.

I absolutely loved Penn at the interview and would be happier living in Philadelphia than Los Angeles. I love experiencing new places, so I don't mind moving to the east coast. I'm used to the harsh winters too, since I go to school in the midwest. My family lives about 2 hours away from UCLA, so it'd be a much easier to commute if I wanted to go home for a weekend, but I also don't plan on doing that too often.