UIC vs. EVMS vs. NYIT Jonesboro vs. Midwestern CCOM vs. Touro University Nevada

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

blubberingDO

Reaction score
I've been accepted to this group of 5 schools (2 MDs and 3 DO's). I live in Memphis, TN, and will have an S.O. living in Poughkeepsie, NY the next 4 years. She will come to visit me on every one of her breaks. My immediate family is in Memphis (near NYIT) and my grandparents are in Las Vegas (near Touro). I'm also an Air Force HPSP student who previously attended allopathic medical school for one semester. Thus, my tuition will be covered for 3.5 years of the program, and I will likely go through the military match. I'm not sure what I want to specialize in yet. I had a 3.83 GPA and 515 MCAT from a top-10 ranked liberal arts college.

1) UIC
Pros: Highest reputation based on US News rankings, 4-year combined MD/MPH program, proximity to a Jewish community in Chicago (I'm Jewish so that's important to me).
Cons: Cold winter weather, high cost of tuition first semester, relatively higher cost of living. I'm not much of an urbanite and the campus felt overwhelmingly city.

2) EVMS
Pros: Good reputation based on rankings and board pass rates, good match-list for military students, better weather in Norfolk, slightly lower cost of living but probably not a big difference because I'd want to live in the Ghent, which is an upscale area. The closest school to my girlfriend (about a 7.5-hour drive), etc. Near a strong Jewish community. Nicer-looking campus than UIC.

Cons) Far from any family for support and it's hard to get flights there. Some of the areas around Norfolk seem pretty unsafe, but that's true in any city.

3) Midwestern CCOM