UNC MED Program Summer 2018

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GDTBATH16

OMS-2
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm making this for anyone who has applied and is waiting for a response. Feel free to share opinions and what you think about the program. This is my second time applying.

"Success doesn't come without struggle"

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,

Thanks for making this! I am super excited, but also anxious to hear back from them. I wish you good luck!

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Hello,

Thanks for making this! I am super excited, but also anxious to hear back from them. I wish you good luck!

Great to hear from someone! Good luck to you too.

"Success doesn't come without struggle"

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
Question: How beneficial is this program? Do most applicants get interviewed or accepted into UNC dental or medical school?

Hi Ween,

I am not an expert, just another applicant, so here is my humble opinion:

The main benefits of the program, if you do well obviously, is that they give you a committee letter of evaluation. The letter of evaluation can be beneficial to you anywhere you apply, because it shows that you are able to handle a curriculum that is similar to a medical school curriculum.

They even wrote a research paper to determine if the performance of students at the UNC MED program was a good predictor of students academic performance during the first three years of medical school, and they found that the student’s class ranking during UNC MED was a strong and sometimes the only predictor of their medical school academic performance, so students who failed the program or did poorly were more likely to fail or do poorly in medical school, while students who did well were more likely to do well in medical school. Here is the link to that paper: