Undergraduate majors

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrEaMeRcHiCk

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I was wondering what everyone majored in as an undergrad? I'm going to UCLA in the fall and I know they have intro classes to the majors but i'd like to get some insight into a few majors I am considering....such as microbio, biology, and molecular bio...I am considering biochem but i heard it's difficult but if it appeals to me i'll go for it. And for schools in california such as usc and ucsf..do they prefer one undergrad major over another? because I've heard rumors such as "oh this major is more difficult so they take that into consideration" Any advice would be appreciated... ;)

Members don't see this ad.

I majored in microbio, immunology and molecular genetics at UCLA - loved the major. If you have any qs, PM me.

I would recommend that you should major in an area that you like! It does not matter what it is, just as long as you do well in it. If I had to do it all over again, I might of chosen Liberal Studies or some ticky tacky major. :D

Members don't see this ad :)
I majored in Business which I hope to be able to apply later.

I agree with EED. Major in something you like. If the major doesn't include the prereqs, just take them. Without stating my major, I will say my major included puppetry as a core course. Maybe when I'm working, I'll duck behind the counter and let a little hand puppet consult with customers. Microbus out.

I majored in biology. After completing the pharmacy science pre-reqs, it was the quickest path to a degree. Though, I was tempted by environmental science.

hi~