Undergraduate rankings

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PowderPhan

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I went to a state school that doesn't really bring to mind academic excellence, but the specific undergraduate program I was enrolled in has a high national ranking (I think it was 3rd in USNews when I graduated in 2000, 5th now). One of the reasons that I went with my state school was because the program was so good (and cheap!).

Now I'm wondering how to bring attention to the fact that yes, my undergraduate school overall isn't all that great, but the degree program I entered was. I know that these things are a factor for some adcoms...

Should I write about it in my PS? Will there be room in secondaries to bring it up? I don't really want to focus on it, but I think that it is something that many adcoms may not be aware of.

Thanks for any advice,
pp

:horns:

Members don't see this ad.

PowderPhan said:
I went to a state school that doesn't really bring to mind academic excellence, but the specific undergraduate program I was enrolled in has a high national ranking (I think it was 3rd in USNews when I graduated in 2000, 5th now). One of the reasons that I went with my state school was because the program was so good (and cheap!).

Now I'm wondering how to bring attention to the fact that yes, my undergraduate school overall isn't all that great, but the degree program I entered was. I know that these things are a factor for some adcoms...

Should I write about it in my PS? Will there be room in secondaries to bring it up? I don't really want to focus on it, but I think that it is something that many adcoms may not be aware of.

Thanks for any advice,
pp

:horns: