Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Undergraduate rankings

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by PowderPhan, Apr 26, 2004.

1. PowderPhan

PowderPhan Junior Member
    7+ Year Member

I went to a state school that doesn't really bring to mind academic excellence, but the specific undergraduate program I was enrolled in has a high national ranking (I think it was 3rd in USNews when I graduated in 2000, 5th now). One of the reasons that I went with my state school was because the program was so good (and cheap!).

Now I'm wondering how to bring attention to the fact that yes, my undergraduate school overall isn't all that great, but the degree program I entered was. I know that these things are a factor for some adcoms...

Should I write about it in my PS? Will there be room in secondaries to bring it up? I don't really want to focus on it, but I think that it is something that many adcoms may not be aware of.

Thanks for any advice,
    pp

:horns:

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. exmike

exmike NOR * CAL
    10+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]
    Personally I think the adcomm would see it as bragging or compensating. There is no need to justify it in your PS as it will probably not help you much. PS space is already at a premium, there is no reason to stuff it with stuff that doesnt set you apart.

4. mikedc813

10+ Year Member

Attending Physician