Univ of Michigan RESIDENT CLASSIFICATION

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
T

The Wop

I am (A) a Michigan resident
(B) Go to college out of Michigan

Thus, Univ. of Michigan doesn't believe I'm a Michigan resident and thus I must fill out a 3-page form with details such as every address where I have "physically resided" in the past 5 years. And to top it off, since I am a dependent, I need to attach my parents state and federal tax returns.

Stupid. Annoying. Anyone else have to put up with this garbage? Does this slow down the review of my application? I really hope they review applications while waiting for this residency status.

Any insight?

Members don't see this ad.

I was born in Michigan. Lived in Michigan all 21 years of my life. Went to Preschool through Undergrad in Ann Arbor. My parents lived in Michigan for 22 years. My mom even works for UMich. And still I had to fill out that damn form (which i turned in last week). You're right - it's utter garbage that we have to fill out that form (I questioned this, and they wanted me to fill out "just in case").

As for delaying your application, the dental school said that it wouldn't delay your application. However, you would be counted as an non-resident, which would affect your chances to receive an interview early on (since they do have preferences for instaters)

Hope that helps.

I am (A) a Michigan resident
(B) Go to college out of Michigan

Thus, Univ. of Michigan doesn't believe I'm a Michigan resident and thus I must fill out a 3-page form with details such as every address where I have "physically resided" in the past 5 years. And to top it off, since I am a dependent, I need to attach my parents state and federal tax returns.

Stupid. Annoying. Anyone else have to put up with this garbage? Does this slow down the review of my application? I really hope they review applications while waiting for this residency status.