UNT M.S. in Medical Sciences 2015-2016 (Texas)-SMP

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gxb

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
New year, new thread! Anyone applying to the program this year?
Here's the link to the program: http://web.unthsc.edu/info/20004/gr.../master_of_science_degree_in_medical_sciences

One of the current students was nice enough to provide some valuable information about the program in a Q&A conversation that we've had recently. click here to access the thread.

To any current or former students willing to share their experience, your input is greatly appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.

I'm also a current med sci student happy to answer any questions ya'll have. I figure this thread won't have much activity until it gets closer to the end of the year.

Members don't see this ad :)
Former med sci here if anyone has questions about courses later in the program or medical school.

I'm very interested in the program, and moved to Texas specifically to attend the med schools here. I have two questions about the program:

1. The statistics posted on the website, while refreshingly honest, seem somewhat bleak. Of the 75% that graduate, what happened to the other 25%? Did they flunk out? Throw in the towel? Or, in your opinion, did that 25% not belong there in the first place? Of that 75%, UNT states 60% gain acceptance to a med school somewhere. Does this number reflect those accepted during the program, or the overall success rate? I remember reading that TCOM saves 10% of it's class for its SMP students; is this still true? Of the students that didn't go to TCOM, did any other schools seem to value the program over others? I remember reading that A&M seemed to really like students from this program.