Upcoming GRE Writers - Vent and Celebrate

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WaitingKills

Rockstar
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I have the impression that there are quite a few of us cramming for the GRE (general and psych). I figure we could use our own thread to vent, destress, celebrate or cry (hopefully not).

Sooo here are some questions to start out...

What test are you writing?
When are you writing it?
Is it a rewrite?
If yes, old score (if your comfortable with disclosing)?
What are you hoping to score?
What are you doing to prepare/how are you feeling?

Then after you write, are you dancing or crying?

Me...

Writing - General
When - November 6th
Rewrite - Yes (grrr!)
Old Score - 520V, 560Q, 5.5W
Hoping to score - 560+V, 670+Q, 5.5+W
How are you preparing/feeling - I'm studying as much as I can with cue cards and three books I bought. I also am seeing a tutor 3 times a week. I'm feeling way more prepared this time around, but not nearly prepared enough yet. Hopefully by the time I write (3 weeks from now) I'll be through my math book and know another 200-300 words. I'm also playing balderdash with my friends once a week with GRE words (rather than the proper balderdash words) to help memorize them associated with funny definitions.

So my expectations for scores aren't as high as most of you here but honestly, I'll be really happy with anything over the magic 1200. I figure if I keep my expectations on a realistic level anything greater than that is gravy (I'm really hoping for the gravy lol!!!).

Members don't see this ad.

I am taking the GRE subject psych test.

I took it 14 years ago and got a 550 with no studying. I took a practice a week ago with no studying and got a 620. Boo!

I am taking it for real Nov. 3.

Hoping for a 700+ (90 percentile +). I think I can do it.