UPenn vs. Indiana vs. UIC vs. Marquette vs. Pitt

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GoldFilling

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

Longtime sdn lurker here. I'm just looking to get your opinion and help with making a decision between these schools,. Thankfully I've been accepted to all five, and all five seem like truly great schools. Please vote! I realize that only I will be able to make the decision, but I value the opinion of the sdn community. I've listed the principle pros and cons of each school below. For contextual purposes, I am an Illinois resident, which makes UIC, Marquette and Indiana the closest options. I have an initial interest in specializing; however, I realize that I am just a naive pre-dent, so I'll leave it at that.

-Indiana:
Pros: Friendly environment, great faculty, all specialty clinics represented
Cons: As an OOS public school, is very expensive, and not quite up to Penn's standards in my mind, so I'm leaning towards ruling it out.

-UIC:
Pros: the cheapest school (IS), would allow me to stay very close to home, all specialty clinics, Chicago :)
Cons: I didn't quite like the school environment during my interview, although I don't doubt that the dental program is stellar

-UPenn:
Pros: Ivy name, friendly environment, great city, would probably allow me to have the best prospects for specialization and networking down the road, all specialty clinics, externship and research opportunities/emphasis
Cons: Very expensive, far from home

-Marquette:
Pros: Great environment, very friendly during interview, helpful faculty, family feel, 2nd cheapest school (Basically equal to UIC if I limit living expenses), decently close to home (approx. 2-2.5 hours)
Cons: Lack of some specialty clinics (OMFS, peds), lack of research

-Pitt:
Pros: Great city, awesome faculty and interview environment, relatively cheap for a private school
Cons: Far from home