URGENT DEADLINE: Can MPH lead to Psychology PhD????

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Ensight21

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am in a very unique situation that I would greatly appreciate any advice on. I have been accepted into an MPH program from one of the top schools. However, I have also been accepted into a couple of psychology master's programs in clinical/community psychology. I have no research background and was not a psych undergraduate, thus why I felt compelled to pursue a masters first IF I am going to pursue a doctorate in psychology.

The problem is I have NO idea what I want to really do. I think research, therapy, teaching, and consulting all SOUND good but I have NO idea about the realities of each path and whether I can get my MPH and then be competitive for psychology doctorate programs if I eventually choose that.

CAN ANYONE OFFER ANY ADVICE ON THE REALITIES OF PSYCHOLOGY? And perhaps if anyone has any advice about whether an MPH could lead me to psych doctorate???
I must decide by May 1st.

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

An MPH and PhD/PsyD lead to VERY different career paths in entirely different fields. I would not expect an MPH to significantly help you in gaining admission to a PsyD or PhD program. If clinical psych is where your heart is, an MPH is probably not worth the time nor money involved.

I just sent you a message but I also wanted to comment on this page for others who may have some insight because my MAJOR problem is that I have NO idea where my heart is other than just loving to learn and read about psychological theories. However, I know that does not automatically translate to loving psychological practice- clinical or research.

So can anyone offer any insight into the realities of the field with an MA in Clinical/Community psychology? Are there more applied areas outside of just clinical? Areas of consulting?