US-IMG's chances in ENT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

spinetime

undecided.
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I'm kind of a n00b to sdn (more a reader than a poster), and I'm sure this topic has been discussed ad nauseum, but I couldn't find anything via the search function. So, here goes:

I am a 4th year med student (in a 5 year program) in a medical college in South Asia. I am originally from the US, and therefore have no visa issues. I recently began my ENT rotation here at my college, and found the discipline to be awesome...I want to possibly pursue a career in the field, but I know it is extremely competitive.
I have completed research in a major California University in the dept. of Anesthesia, and plan on doing away electives at top tier schools. I also plan on more research (possibly in ENT depending on the outcome of this thread). So my question is, with appropriate USMLE scores (high 90s), would someone in my situation even be considered for ENT? I appreciate blunt honesty, since I'm wondering if it's reasonably possible (I already know that ANYTHING is possible, so I don't need to hear that). Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Hey everyone,

I'm kind of a n00b to sdn (more a reader than a poster), and I'm sure this topic has been discussed ad nauseum, but I couldn't find anything via the search function. So, here goes:

I am a 4th year med student (in a 5 year program) in a medical college in South Asia. I am originally from the US, and therefore have no visa issues. I recently began my ENT rotation here at my college, and found the discipline to be awesome...I want to possibly pursue a career in the field, but I know it is extremely competitive.