• Yes - Close to exam date

Votes: 2 25.0%
  • Yes - As early as possible

Votes: 2 25.0%

• Total voters
Jan 3, 2017
Status (Visible)
  1. Medical Student
First question: Is DIT worth it to get exposed to all of the STEP 1 material at the beginning of/prior to heavy board prep? I'll still be in classes when I plan to start board prep, and I think a regimented schedule during this time could help.

We had a presentation at the beginning of our second year suggesting we use their program right before we take the exam, but I think I would rather do questions and get more passes of the material via UFAPing rather than watching videos.

Second question: Has anyone been successful starting DIT like 6-7 months before their STEP 1 as a first pass of first aid, and then doing questions, reviewing first aid, pathoma closer to their STEP date? Or is this too early?

I've been a strong student. My goal for STEP 1 would be a 230 or higher.

Would love to hear some insight.

Drrrrrr. Celty

Osteo Dullahan
10+ Year Member
Nov 10, 2009
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]
DIT has a lot of primer videos and material so you can start 6 months ago and then 1-2 mo out do one of the schedules.

I personally think you should read first aid once before you watch DIT. It makes following along and identifying important material in DIT a lot easier. Then after reread first aid and the DIT book.

If you've got 6 weeks of dedicated or more then you should be able to do DIT, FA 2-3 times, pathoma 1 time, and get through most of Uworld comfortably.

AlbinoHawk DO

An Osteopath
7+ Year Member
Oct 19, 2013
Status (Visible)
  1. Non-Student
I don't think DIT offers anything that FAPS doesn't. I used it alongside a few classes to get HY, but that was the extent of its usefulness.

Drrrrrr. Celty

Osteo Dullahan
10+ Year Member
Nov 10, 2009
Status (Visible)
  1. Resident [Any Field]