Using other degrees, besides MD, after name

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

need_some_coffee

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Good morning! What is the standard practice for physicians listing their other graduate degrees (other than MD or DO) after their names? I have an MBA and MS from a prior career. I did not have those added to my white coat or name tag, because they seem irrelevant. But, I was recently asked if I wanted other degrees listed on a program for an award I’m receiving and I’ve noticed other docs using other degrees behind their names. What do you all think? What have you seen done?

Members don't see this ad.

No one lists their BS or BA.

Lots of people list other advanced degrees like MS and MBA.

It's totally your choice. Most in academics list them (even on white coats).

Reactions: 1 user
I always thought it’s a sad look. The only thing people need to know is your medical degree. Whether you have a Masters or PhD in origami is pretty irrelevant. I tend to judge you.

Reactions: 5 users
No one lists their BS or BA.

Lots of people list other advanced degrees like MS and MBA.

It's totally your choice. Most in academics list them (even on white coats).
As usual, I agree with @NotAProgDirector . In academia it's probably worth listing, especially if it's something that is relevant to your career (ie MS if you are doing research, M.Ed. if you're connected in any way to medical education, MBA if you're involved in hospital finances... obviously PhD pretty much in any setting). In some settings you may get a salary bump if you hold additional degrees. But it's entirely up to you.

Reactions: 3 users
Agree with NotAPD and GoSpursGO. I'd say on a program for an academic meeting, go ahead and list it. It could even lead to networking opportunities.

It can get ridiculous though when people start to list everything, including their professional affiliations.