UT Southwestern vs. Mayo

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mdperson18

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
First time posting here. I am trying to decide between UT Southwestern and Mayo School of Medicine.
I am a Dallas resident (home 20 miles from UT Southwestern) and am interested in neuro/neurosurgical specialty as well as research.

UTSW
PROS:
Closer to home
In-State Tuition - $18,500
Awesome research ranking
CONS:
???

Mayo
PROS:
Great Research Facility
CONS:
Tuition - $49,900 (money is not a problem)
Not affiliated with a university

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Congrats! Since both are top tier schools, I would go with the cheaper option UTSW even if money is not a problem. At UTSW, I think you would have no trouble adjusting and would have many support networks closeby. I can't see a pro that Mayo has significantly over UTSW.

Reactions: 1 user
N=1. If you decide to attend UTSW, let them know that you have an offer from Mayo to bargain for scholarship money. I am aware of a prior applicant who got offers from Baylor and Mayo. He let Baylor know about Mayo's offer and Baylor found $$ to give him a full scholarship, which he accepted.

Members don't see this ad :)
N=1. If you decide to attend UTSW, let them know that you have an offer from Mayo to bargain for scholarship money. I am aware of a prior applicant who got offers from Baylor and Mayo. He let Baylor know about Mayo's offer and Baylor found $$ to give him a full scholarship, which he accepted.
OP doesn't have an offer from Mayo though

@mdperson18 if money isn't a problem, I would honestly go with Mayo (if you are referring to the MN campus)