UTRGV vs PLFSOM [Texas Match]

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lolo333

Reaction score
Hello all,
I have pre-matched at UTRGV and PLFSOM (nothing from any other schools) and I am trying to decide between the two before I rank them on match day. There aren't many posts on UTRGV, especially after their first match list came out last year. I know that both schools have a ton in common, but I'm hoping you guys have some insights. I'm a nontraditional student. I currently live in the RGV, and that's where my family lives as well.

PLFSOM:

Pros:
- more established
- better match list
- more extracurricular activities = AOA, etc.
- mandatory research = which means it will absolutely get done haha
- student culture seemed really good, down to earth
- all clinical activities in one place, very close to the school
- high median age = which means there might be other older, nontraditional students

Cons:

- very far from family

- Overall, I have heard good things about the science curriculum. But, I have also heard that the other parts of the curriculum (Spanish, longitudinal classes on society/culture/etc.) take up too much of the students' time. I know all schools have these courses and they are definitely important, but I've heard that this school is doing more than average and some students are frustrated. I know there is a month of basically orientation, and most of it is devoted to these subjects. IDK if that's normal?

- Both schools are on the border and very far from other cities, but I feel like El paso might be even more isolated that RGV. El paso is definitely a bigger city than RGV. But, RGV is within (somewhat) driveable distance of much larger cities (San Antonio, Austin), and El paso seems very isolated. I know med school keeps you really busy, but I wouldn't want to more somewhere more insular. But IDK which is actually better/worse on this front?