Uworld random questions? FA not complete

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fly1346

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
So my exam is end of June. Was wondering if what I'm doing is recommended. I'm 2/3rds done with DIT annotation into first aid, hopefully finish in the next few weeks, where I then plan on sitting and studying/memorizing/understanding FA totally.

However right now, I've been doing 10-15 random questions for Uworld, avg about 30-40%. Do you guys recommend 'random' even tho I haven't completed FA yet, or should I be doing it systems based?

Thanks, all comments appreciated

Members don't see this ad.

You'll probably get different opinions on this as everyone has a different way of doing it, but when I was doing my first pass of FA, I did systems-based questions but added on the systems as I went. So if I studied cardio, I did a block of cardio questions, then if I studied neuro next, I did a block of cardio + neuro, etc. By the time I finished my first pass, I was doing random.

Reactions: 1 users
Same as Ismet, I am doing my first pass of uworld in systems. I did kaplan and usmlerx by subject, and now I am finding out what subjects I really need more help with. Everyday I do a different subject, and in ~2 weeks I will be done with my first pass of uworld. After that I will do all my incorrects on random timed, and then random timed all after that.

Different way to skin a cat, but remember the main goal is to learn from the questions, not just get them right. Sounds like with a 30-40% correct, you still need to build the foundation before you work on perfecting test taking techniques.

The test is random. Practice random.

Lots of questions on which you would normally be on the fence between two options can be answered just by knowing which subjects you've enabled.