Very Difficult Personal Issues Right Before DAT/Application

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

HelpNeeded12345

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm in a bit of a predicament. I'm a junior who is applying this June and taking the DAT in June as well. I've been preparing for dental school for the past 3 years and have done very well in my preparation. Good grades, consistent extracurriculars, shadowing, etc. I am currently in my last semester before I apply and am doing as well as usual. However, this past weekend me and my wife got separated. I know it's kind of a personal issue, but I made a new account just for this post (I hope you all understand...) and hopefully I can get some helpful advice.
My life is completely shaken and I am in a very bad place. Me and my wife have had lots of ups and downs, but this came as a huge shock to me and I am completely devastated and lost. She doesn't want to get a divorce, but she just wants a few months apart so we can work on ourselves and the problems that we have. This has caused me to lose all motivation other than focusing on how much I miss her and how much I wish things were different. I have a 3 day weekend and I am hoping that I can pull myself together so that I can get back into my studies next week. However, I am worried that I will not be able to rebound so fast and therefore I might not have the strength to finish this semester strong nor study well for the DAT in June.

So, should I postpone my application for next year? Everything was all set up to apply this cycle, but I only want to do so if I am able to perform well on the DAT/ my last semester. If things don't get any better, and I am unable to recover quickly, should I postpone my application by a year? I appreciate any advice you might have, especially if you have been in a similar situation. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.