very non-trad possible dental

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NiHK

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am withdrawing from medical school, and I'd like an assessment of whether dental school is a legitimate option in the future. I have a 3.6 overall and 3.9 science; I scored in 97% of MCAT so I'm confident that I can translate it into a fairly high score in DAT if I do go this route. I have many years full-time experience in health and volunteer work, all of which led to very good acceptances in medicine. Before even starting informational interviews and shadowing, I need to know if I even have a shot.

I'd rather not disclose too much about my withdrawal, but some basics is that its happening in the first semester and it's not an academics issue.

Thoughts?

Members don't see this ad.

If you are leaving human medicine for emotional/spiritual/personal reasons have you thought about vet as a career? I've recently got myself a dog and had a chance to go to several vets and see how they work. If you enjoy working with animals you can find true happiness and a career working as a vet as well.

Are you withdrawing because you want to be a dentist? I think that'd be a huge factor for if you have a shot. There is a spot on the AADSAS application for you to say if you've ever been in a professional school before

Members don't see this ad :)
You should stick with medicine and work on your pre-dental path at the same time. If you withdraw now, you are losing the security.

We can't really help you if you don't disclose the reasons why you are withdrawing. It doesn't have to be specific if you are afraid of schools identifying who you are.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 user