Very Nontraditional Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RustyCarpenter

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am your Nontraditional-nontraditional student. I recently immigrated to the US last year after I graduated my UG degree as BS Nursing (2012) and went into medical school for 2 years. I currently live in California. In my country, my overall grade was already considered as above average. I had my transcript evaluated and to my disapppointment, the 222 units I earned in my undergrad yielded a gpa of 2.67. I know that this gpa is extremely low for the US medical standards.

I definitely know that my chances to enter medical school here is extremely impossible. But I really want to try and wanted to be an MD.

I am now thinking of getting my prerequiaites again, like starting over since nursing doesnt give you the needed coursework for medicine, from a community college. I also looked through postbacs but all needed a gpa of atleast 3. My chances to get a second degree is also slim.

I talked to a volunteer prehealth advisor and already discouraged me. She said my best bet is to take the PA route or community college.

What do you guys think? I really want to be an MD, but with all these, should I not?

Members don't see this ad.

Sorry, but with a 2.67 GPA (and so many hours that it is not feasible to raise it substantially) there is basically zero chance of an allopathic school accepting you. With heavy grade replacement and a good MCAT you could apply to a D.O. school and have a shot if you retake and get all A's.

Am I correct in assuming you are a non US-citizen? Unless you hold a green card, that is another HUGE barrier.

Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
So I am your Nontraditional-nontraditional student.
It's a mistake to take on this nontrad forum in a "who is more nontrad" cage match.