volunteering for a vet?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Magentacat

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone! I am desperate for someone's help because I am a late bloomer in this whole vet thing and need experience ASAP. This summer is my only "full time" chance.

I am about to start applying for vet office jobs as an assistant hopefully, but of course I am worried that I will not get it because I have no experience and am available full time only in the summer, so yeah I doubt anyone would want to train me and only have me there full time for 3 months.

I've been looking into volunteering opportunities for a vet but there do not seem to be any. I haven't actually gone to a vet to ask about it.

1. I was wondering if anyone here who has worked for a vet know if there is such a thing as volunteering at a vet's office?

2. I was thinking of asking to shadow a vet first, and then talk about job/volunteer/whatever, but I do not even have any ideas how to ask! Vets are busy people. :S. Should i call first? What do I say when I call? "Hey..............etc etc... do you have any shadowing/volunteering opportunities?" :confused:

Members don't see this ad.

Call all the vet clinics in your area and explain to them that you are looking to volunteer because you want to get experience for vet school etc. Most clinics are very understanding about this, and it is definately not uncommon to volunteer or shadow. I've worked at 3 vet clinics, and shadowed/volunteered at 3 others.

You are right about possibly not being hired due to the time you can commit and it being quite late in the season- but it never hurts to try!! But don't turn down a job offer if they offer you reception or kennel student- anything is a ticket in!!