$$$ vs. School Prestige for Academics

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

begginandpleadin

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am an incoming med student for next year and am interested in potentially pursuing Oncology (probably Neuro-oncology). I have the choice of a top 3 school with about 60-80k of debt or Vanderbilt with no debt at graduation. My ultimate goal is to be an academic physician doing research at a medical center on the west coast.

I wanted to know how program directors and attendings generally view Vanderbilt med's reputation in relation to Top 3 schools like UCSF or Harvard. I am wondering whether it is best for me to save the money and attend Vandy or go into debt for a much higher ranked school? Is anything in the T20 is essentially equivalent or are there significant advantages to attending a higher ranked school in terms of getting better residencies and later better academic appointments? Or should I avoid debt at all costs and go with the cheaper option given the lower salaries in academia?

Thank you all!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I would do Vandy over UCSF. Harvard and Stanford are both great but would do Vandy still.

Why? 60-80k of debt with interest is a lot for an academic physician to pay off (especially if you have other debt). Having no debt opens doors in terms of geography and what options you can take. Vandy is good enough for a talented student to go to any Internal Medicine residency (the prerequisite to most oncology fields). And if you are going to do oncology, you can always do your IM residency at the best place you can, and then keep climbing the ladder and do your oncology training at an even most prestigious institution.

You can factor in other things, like location (would you happier in Nashville or the other place for four years, etc) but I’d just take Vandy.