WAMC? 3.37 cGPA & 3.08 sGPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

backend2020

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Deleted

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I'm at a T20 school so I have no experience with applicants such as yourself. I recommend that you look at @Goro's advice for applicants in need of reinvention.

Right now, you do not have a record that indicates an ability to do well in the natural sciences. You need to bulk that up and then do well enough on the MCAT to show that you can perform well on that type of high stakes test and that you have mastered the material.

Also, do not make a clinical job an excuse for a poor academic performance. You'll be expected to be part of the team on your M3 clerkships and take exams in the topic area related to the clerkship (internal medicine, pediatrics, surgery, etc) so keep in mind that you will be expected to multitask as a medical student and your past difficulties in that regard should not be paraded before the adcom.

• Love
Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Do you go to a school that has prehealth advising? If so, what have they told you?

Yeah, you're not ready yet. Your sGPA is really low, and you haven't taken the MCAT (which in this case is probably wise). I'd have to see a transcript of your biomedical science coursework, but I suspect success in a Special Master's Program will make the process a bit easier. I agree read up on @Goro's advice for reinvention. But you need a lot more hours in non-clinical community service (no fundraising or tutoring/teaching) and a lot more experience in a clinical setting, especially if you already have credentials. It's okay to be employed in a clinical setting before attempting an application, but you have to get your biomedical science core down solid if that is the path you want.

• Love
Reactions: 2 users