WAMC at State Schools and other schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

inkblot19

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I'm new to SDN and was wondering if I could get some feedback. So I am in my fourth year of college, and am staying an extra year to raise my GPA and take some more upper level science courses.

Here are my stats/ECs/etc.
Major: B.A. Biological Sciences
Certificate Program: Russian Studies
GPA: 3.78 (after this semester - should be around a 3.8 ish) - I had a rough start getting 3.1 - 3.5 each semester but for the past 3 semesters I have gotten straight As. Very good upward trend.
DFW: Only one W in upper level chemistry class. No D's, No F's
sGPA: 3.6 should end up being 3.7 after this semester) - A in Biochemistry (once I started being serious)
MCAT: not sure when I should take this if I am planning on attending medical school in Fall 2021

Volunteering:
220 hrs at a children's developmental clinic at my state school.
50 hrs at free medical clinic

Leadership:
SI PASS Leader - General Chemistry
Student Manager at my university in Facilities Operations
Undergraduate Teaching Assistant for Upper Level Bio Lab Class

Artistic/Athletic/creative Achievement:
Russian Chorus - 2 years - 2 performances as soprano

Creative achievement, non-juried
Co-author on six bacteriophage genome NCBI entries (Accessions available on CV)

Poster presentation on isolation of novel *Streptomyces* bacteriophage in composted soil

Other ECs
Member of Biology Council of Majors

Because I will have to take a gap year; I plan on doing a post-bacc certificate - is this okay?

What else should I do in my gap year?
Should I apply ED for my state school?
I also am wanting to apply to DO schools so I would love any feedback for that as well.

THANK YOU!!!!!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)