• Set Yourself Up For Success Webinar

October 6, 2021 at 2 PM Eastern/11 AM Pacific
    SDN and Osmosis are teaming up to help you get set up for success this school year! We'll be covering study tips, healthy habits, and meeting mentors.

Register Now!

• Funniest Story on the Job Contest Starts Now!

Contest starts now and ends September 27th. Winner will receive a special user banner and $10 Amazon Gift card!

JOIN NOW
  • Site Updates Coming Next Week

Site updates are coming next week on Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Click the button below to learn more!

LEARN MORE

WAMC c/o 2025

Status
Not open for further replies.

snowtzu821

WSU c/o 2025
Jun 14, 2020
  1. Pre-Veterinary
Hi!
So, I was planning on applying to vet school this cycle but I have been getting rather discouraged at my lack of variety of experience.
I’m a Nevada resident hoping to apply for WICHE (if it doesn’t get defunded).

I was hoping to apply to the WICHE schools (CSU, Oregon, WSU, and Midwestern) and maybe one non-WICHE such as Davis, Illinois, or UofA.

I have a 4.0 GPA and I’m taking the GRE soon.

As for the vet experience:
I have worked at my schools Animal Resources department for a year and half (~1200 hours) as a laboratory animal assistant.
I also shadowed under a small animal vet for 20 hours until he left the practice.

I never tried to work anywhere else because I wanted to do my thesis project with veterinarian at my job.
I started it last semester and continuing on this summer so I’m guessing that adds about maybe ~50 hours of research hours by September as I developed the project and we will be starting trials soon.

For animal experience
I have about 200 hours of pet-sitting
And about 30 hours volunteering at a local animal shelter

Job experience outside vet or animal stuff:
I have also worked as a mentor to incoming freshmen for about 80 hours and a reading tutor for a sixth grader for about 40 hours.