WAMC/School List 2023 Cycle, cGPA 3.67/sGPA 3.65/508 MCAT, URM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bugsbunny993

Reaction score
Hi wonderful WAMC folks, I just got my mcat score back today. I really need some advice on whether I should apply MD/PhD this upcoming cycle, or postpone a year to retake mcat. I will be taking a gap year, since I'm in my 4th year going to apply this cycle. I haven't thought about what schools I'm applying to. I am hoping to apply to MD/PhD and I need a reality check.

cGPA and sGPA as calculated by AMCAS or AACOMAS cGPA: 3.67 sGPA: 3.65

MCAT score(s) and breakdown 508 (129/122/130/127) Yes, cars was bad. Debating retake on what some people suggest here

State of residence or country of citizenship (if non-US) California

Ethnicity and/or race Latino (Mexican and Guatemalan)

Undergraduate institution or category T5 UC School, 4th yr, Chemistry and Bio double major

Clinical experience (volunteer and non-volunteer) 300hrs ED Volunteer by time of application ~1 yr volunteering. Typical scut work like picking up meds, blankets, water, food, restocking, discharging patients, and having many convos with patients.

Starting COPE Health Scholar Volunteering ~72 hrs by time of app. A lot more hands on patient care, I was really craving that since in the ED I am very limited on what I am allowed to do. So I applied and will start soon