WAMC, volunteering hours

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sixersfan

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Merry Christmas everyone,
So I have been worrying about my lack of volunteering hours, both clinical and non-clinical. I have a 3.71 GPA, have rather strong EC's, but as far as volunteering I am definitely lacking. I have been volunteering at my local hospital for the past 7 months now and go weekly, problem is, there isn't much I am able to do so my hours don't rack up very quickly. I'm thinking by the time I submit my application early this summer I will have a little over 50 hours of clinical volunteering and around 25 hours of non-clinical volunteering through my schools service events in the community. Of course I have heard its about quality over quantity, and I have thoroughly enjoyed my volunteering experiences as I have learned a lot and was able to help out a local community near home and I have gotten my first patient interactions and learned how to speak to patients. However, I know a lot of this comes down to MCAT but say for example if I get a desired score for the schools I am applying to, do I even stand a chance, given my lack of hours. Thank you everyone and have a great holiday season.

Some other things about me:
From medically underserved area
130 hours of shadowing primary care
Microbiology and Histology Teaching Assistant
Work Study Position
Peer Tutor (Paid)
First Generation Student
Great job experiences (blue collar and customer service work)
Strong LORs

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: