Wanting to re-apply, currently working at Mayo Clinic. Worth it/advice?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

tico1109

Reaction score
Hi all, I wanted to gather some advice if it was reasonable to apply to medical schools this cycle, and thank you in advance to those who take the time to read and respond.

To provide some context, I applied previously in 2021 but unfortunately did not get into any schools. I believe my GPA may have been the limiting factor in my application.

Previous Stats
I had a 2.85 BCPM GPA and a 3.52 AO GPA, with 3.13 Overall GPA.
My most recent MCAT score was a 514 which was taken back in 2021.

Since then, I've been active in research, transitioning from bench to clinical when the pandemic situation loosened up in late 2021/early 2022. I was a Clinical Research Coordinator for my alma mater at a large Midwest University. During this time, I got my Master's in Clinical Research which I received a 4.0 GPA and also got the SoCRA CCRP certification which is preferred in my field. I had the opportunity to work on several significant studies, including industry and multi-center trials, even participating in an international study as the lead site.

Through networking, I was lucky enough to secure a position as a Senior CRC at Mayo Clinic. Currently, I oversee auditing and helping new clinical research team members, to ensure compliance and quality in our research practices, as well as having a few industry trials I manage independently. It's a very different culture here (for the better), and the way patients were treated here reignited my interest in a career in medicine.
Given that this is my last eligible year to utilize my MCAT score, I'm contemplating applying to medical school again. However, I want to be realistic about my chances and avoid unnecessary financial burdens as well as the immense amount of time needed to polish my application.