Washu for 55k/yr or Dartmouth for 25k/yr?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

WashU for 55k/yr or Dartmouth for 25k/yr?

• Washu

Votes: 40 26.3%
  • Dartmouth

Votes: 112 73.7%

• Total voters

MadSong

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I got in at both WashU in St. Louis and Dartmouth. Because I'm an intl. student and didn't get washu's full scholarship, I won't get any financial aid from washu. DMS, however, offered me a nearly 30k/year scholarship. It's really difficult for me to decide right now. Here are what I think the pros and cons of each school:
Washu
Pros:
1. size of the city and diversity. I grew up in a huge city and really like cities. Also, I'm an intl student so I appreciate diversity.
2. more research opportunities.
3. larger hospitals.
4. warmer weather. Again, this is a personal preference because where I grew up we don't really get much snow. However, my undergrad is in Iowa so I'm used to cold winters now.
5. Extremely convenient to go to the airport. Light rail goes every few minutes or so from the med school to STL and it takes only 20 minutes.
Cons:
1. 55k a year for me with no fin. aid. I'll have to take a huge private loan to cover most of it. I think the pressure of loan repayment will be pretty high after school.
2. I can't think of any more. Am I missing some?

Dartmouth:
Pros:
1. only 25k/year after 30k scholarship.
2. small/tight-knit class and presumably more individual attention.
3. no traffic problems, no city crimes.
4. Opportunities to do rotations at many different places.
Cons:
1. Small town.
2. Lack of diversity.
3. Long winters.

So what do you guys think? 55k/yr for washu or 25k/yr for DMS? Assuming most of it is covered by loans.

Members don't see this ad.

It depends on how much you value $120,000.

Dartmouth by a landslide.

120k is a LOT of money to be saved. I'd definitely go with Dartmouth.

Members don't see this ad :)