What are my chances and how can I improve?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

16mlep

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys!

I am a sophomore at a large public university in the northeast. I'd really appreciate any feedback regarding areas that I can improve to make myself competitive for top 20 schools.

My info:

male, white

cGPA: 3.97 sGPA: 4.0

Leadership: -On track to become a resident assistant
-plan on becoming a learning assistant for at at least one class.

Volunteering: -approximately 100 hrs in a hospital (with plenty of patient interaction), will likely have about 200-250 by the time I apply
- going to begin volunteering at an agency to work with the underserved in my local city, plan on getting 200-250 hours

Clinical: 10 hours directly shadowing physicians, planning on 50 by the time I apply, with 3-4 different specialites

Research: I am in a neuroscience lab, where I currently spend 1-2 hours per week. The lab focus is really interesting to me, however, I've only really done testing once or twice. Most of the time I spend looking up primary literature. Should I try to conduct independent research through this lab? (I am interested in research, but I do not necessarily plan to pursue academic medicine.)

Other: health honors society member, IM football for 2 yrs (captain), IM basketball

Am I on the right track, or are there areas to improve on? Especially regarding research, I really do not know what medical schools look for. Please Help!

Members don't see this ad.

TBH, everything looks pretty generic. That is not a bad thing, per se, but your post doesn't really tell us anything about you, so its hard to say, especially without an MCAT score. It looks like you're just checking the boxes. Do things that you're passionate about.