What are my chances of getting admitted to an MD program? thx!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nurseawesome

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I would appreciate any appreciation of my chances of getting into med school!!

Purdue University Nursing Major- IN resident (IU the only school)
GPA:3.68, 3.67science
MCAT: 10PS, 10VR, 9BS (29O)

I want to be a rheumatologist or internist of some kind because I enjoy learning and knowing about every body system.
I also have an interesting history: dx with lupus at age 6, lived with it through college exacerbations. Mother was dx and deceased from scleroderma. These diseases and those similar are treated by rheumatologists :)

As a nursing student I've had approx. 12hrs of clinical (time spent working with patients in hospital) per week for 3 semesters, have seen a lot there and done a lot there. I have relatively excellent clinical skills and bedside manner as a nurse (I think a strong point of my application?)

Activities:
Was in drumline at my univ. for 2 years and in the concert band as well as some percussion special groups.
DCI (drum corps international= cool drumming, takes a lot of dedication)
Tutor for Organic chemistry I and II for 2 semesters

Volunteering:
Komen for the cure (breast cancer) surgical assistant (cored out healthy breast tissue for research- crazy awesome) 2 days/ yr= 24hrs
Relay for life team member 2 yrs= 24hrs + prep and fundraising
Overnight homeless shelter worker= 10hrs + more coming soon
administered H1N1 vaccines to Purdue students= 6hrs.
Hands-on aquarium children's education fun thing- 4 hrs/hr x2= 8hrs.
Band-related volunteering= 12hrs