What are my chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Canadian Premed

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everybody,

I'm currently a Canadian Citizen but live on a border city to the states, so I commute daily back and forth to an American School.

I'm a sophomore studying Biology (B.S.) and Chemistry (B.A.) – double major. Since my first semester I took many sciences and electives together and so far it has been no problem. That said, I'm thinking of graduating in three years so I should be done August 2008, and I plan to attend Medical School in the fall of 2008, Hopefully... I'm planning on taking the MCAT in August 2007, so that means I'm going to be applying late, even though I'm doing my primaries this June. The problem or at least I think is going to be a problem is my age and my volunteering experience on the application. I'm 19 and by the rate I want to go at, I'd like to go into Medical school when I'm 20, will that be a problem since they want more mature individuals. I think I'm mature but we all know, even though they don't admit it, just like getting a new job, the interviewers are bias and stereotype.

About my volunteering, so far I have 0 hours of volunteering in the hospital but I do tutor Chemistry for free for about 2 hours a week. Also, I help kids' homework and organize their activities with a bunch of other students in my school on weekly basis. I do however plan on starting in the hospital by the end of March so I'll 3 months experience by June when I hand in my Primaries...

GPA: 3.96
Credits: Almost 90 credits done.
Load: 7 classes this semester, always been fulltime, sophomore year I've went over the limit with a permission from the school.
Clubs: A few university clubs, I'm sure I can't include the other clubs I go to on the weekends :laugh:...
MCAT: not yet... shouldn't be a problem...
Research: 6 hours a week. Started this January...