What are the different possible paths to Radiology?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Radiologee

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I am a 2nd year medical student who is stuck on Radiology as a career. I was just wondering what the different possible paths to radiology are if, say, I get an average Step 1 score. (ie. is it possible to do internal and then fellowship in radio? or something else along those lines?

Thanks in advance for any responses!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
If you're an AMG you'll most likely match a radiology residency. There's no need to do internal medicine first (unless you're referring to a prelim year).

Get the best step score possible, decent clinical grades, and keep padding your CV with research and you'll match at strong program.

I'm an IMG - probably should have mentioned that... :(

Members don't see this ad :)
You'll still probably match. Radiology as a field is not as competitive to match somewhere as it used to be. That said, stellar scores and strong CVs are still the norm at top programs.

I'll let someone who has been in that position address the any specifics for IMGs.

I'm not too fussed about getting into the top programs - I just want to get in, and I'll go anywhere in the US.

My main question is: what are the alternative paths to a career in radiology (ie. non-direct)?

My main question is: what are the alternative paths to a career in radiology (ie. non-direct)?

there are lots of subspecialty training programs in areas that are similar to radiology but do not have the breadth of training or focus on diagnosis as the modern american definition of diagnostic radiology

-nuclear medicine
-neurology → vascular neurology → interventional (endovascular surgical) neuroradiology
-neurosurgery → interventional (endovascular surgical) neuroradiology
-internal medicine/pediatrics → cardiology → interventional cardiology