What BCP gpa is good enough?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dentalpath262

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I graduated with my bachelor's in june and am working for a year before I go back to pursue dentistry. I still have to take some prereq's and the dat but I know I'm going to have to do a lot better in the rest of my bcp classes to have a chance. Right now I have overall gpa: 3.61, science gpa: 3.54, bcp gpa: 3.00 but I still have 6 out of 11 classes to take that will go under bcp gpa. I think I can get it to around 3.25-3.35, is that good enough to apply (to osu, bu, tufts, louisville, uk, indiana)? I can find averages of overall and science gpa for schools but I haven't found averages of BCP gpa for schools even though it's the most important.

Members don't see this ad.

BCP gpa of 3.00 is on the low side but if you can raise it to 3.3 your chances are much better... and I think you could apply to the schools you listed as well, and have a reasonable chance.

Just get all A's in those classes and you will be fine. The higher the GPA, the higher the chances, but there is no specific "golden GPA."

Members don't see this ad :)
Osu likes pretty high gpa's so if your not an Ohio resident you better raise it as much as possible and rock the dat

Thanks for the replies. I am an ohio resident and went there for undergrad so they're my number one choice. An advisor in the dental school said I was looking great but that was without seeing the bcp gpa, but I hope to get that gpa a lot higher and do extremely well on the DAT! thanks for the advice and congrats on the invites bigbrightsmile!